Who We Are

Trade Division

The Trade Division defines, coordinates and develops our position on EU policy matters and our relationship with EU Institutions to advance departmental EU priority measures. It is responsible for the identification, formulation and development of Ireland’s international trade policies, including at European Union trade policy negotiations and through active participation in the World Trade Organisation. The division is also responsible for the administration and enforcement of EU export controls and EU trade sanctions, in support of global security and human rights.

The division is responsible for trade promotion activities and coordinates the annual programme of ministerial led trade and investment missions, as well as promoting and raising awareness among Irish firms the benefits of EU-FTAs. The division provides the secretariat to the Trade and Investment Council and leads on the development of a new national strategy for trade and investment. The division also coordinates across government for Ireland’s participation in Joint Economic Commissions. The division implements the EU Investment Screening Regulation and acts as Ireland’s National Contact Point for cooperation with the European Commission and with other EU member States on investment screening matters.

The division also acts as the National Contact Point for the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises (MNEs) which provide for a set non-binding principles and standards consistent for responsible business conduct.

Assistant Secretary: Ronnie Downes

Units of Trade Division

  • Trade Policy
  • Trade Licensing and Control
  • Trade and Investment Implementation
  • IE-UK
  • Investment Screening

Main contact points

Unit/Area of responsibilityContact point

Trade Division Coordination

Email: tradedivcoordination@enterprise.gov.ie

Trade Policy Unit

Email: trade@enterprise.gov.ie

Trade and Investment Implementation Unit

Bilateral Trade

Email: niamh.mathews@enterprise.gov.ie / ian.carty@enterprise.gov.ie

Trade Licensing and Control

Email: exportcontrol@enterprise.gov.ie

IE-UK Unit

Email: brexitunit@enterprise.gov.ie

Investment Screening

Email: investmentscreening@enterprise.gov.ie


Email: oecdncp@enterprise.gov.ie