Who We Are

Indigenous Enterprise, SMEs and Entrepreneurship Division

The overall goal of the Indigenous Enterprise, SMEs and Entrepreneurship Division is to work with relevant stakeholders to ensure that appropriate supports are in place to promote and develop entrepreneurship, to help businesses to start, scale and export, to prepare for Brexit and to work with stakeholders across the wider system to ensure a supportive business environment (for example, tax policy, skills availability etc.)

The Division operates a suite of policies and supports designed to assist and facilitate businesses at all stages of development and growth, from nascent and early stage entrepreneurs to companies of scale trading internationally.

This includes direct interventions such as the provision of Microfinance and Loan Guarantees, as well as working with the Division’s Agencies, Enterprise Ireland, the Local Enterprise Offices and the National Standards Authority of Ireland together with support for the Design and Crafts Council to ensure their supports are relevant and aligned to the evolving needs of business.

Assistant Secretary: Declan Hughes

Tel: +353 1 631 2869
Email: declan.hughes@enterprise.gov.ie

Assistant Secretary’s Personal Assistant: Sarah Smithers

Tel: + 353 1  631 2156
Email: sarah.smithers@enterprise.gov.ie

Units of Indigenous Enterprise, SMEs and Entrepreneurship Division

  • Entrepreneurship and Small Business Policy Unit
  • Enterprise Agencies and Programmes Unit
  • Finance for Growth and State Aids Unit
  • Regional Enterprise Plans and Enterprise Initiatives Unit
  • Retail and Sector Transformation Policy Unit
  • National Standards Authority of Ireland (NSAI) Liaison Unit

Main contact points

UnitContact points

Entrepreneurship

Conor Verdon, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2418
Email: conor.verdon@enterprise.gov.ie

Ciaran McLoughlin, Assistant Principal
Tel: + 353 1 631 2175
Email: ciaran.mcloughlin@enterprise.gov.ie

Laura Byrne, Higher Executive Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2263
Email: laura.byrne@enterprise.gov.ie

Enterprise Ireland

Thomas Murray, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2155
Email: thomas.murray@enterprise.gov.ie

Finance for GrowthFiona Kilcullen, Principal Officer
Email: fiona.kilcullen@enterprise.gov.ie
Late PaymentsFiona Kilcullen, Principal Officer
Email: fiona.kilcullen@enterprise.gov.ie

Local Enterprise Offices

Thomas Murray, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2155
Email: thomas.murray@enterprise.gov.ie

Phyllis Kelly, Assistant Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2145
Email: phyllis.kelly@enterprise.gov.ie

Joan O'Brien, Executive Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2149
Email: joan.obrien@enterprise.gov.ie

National Standards Authority of Ireland (NSAI) Liaison

Conor Verdon, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2418
Email: conor.verdon@enterprise.gov.ie

Mary Kilduff, Assistant Principal
Tel: +353 1 631 2390
Email: mary.kilduff@enterprise.gov.ie

Regional Enterprise Plans and Regional Enterprise Development Fund (REDF)

Céline McHugh, Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2876
Email: celine.mchugh@enterprise.gov.ie

Phelim Cassidy, Assistant Principal (Regional Enterprise Plans)
Tel: + 353 1 631 2023
Email: phelim.cassidy@enterprise.gov.ie

Colm O’Neill, Assistant Principal (REDF)
Tel: + 353 1 631 2032
Email: colm.oneill@enterprise.gov.ie

Retail and Sector Transformation Policy

Maedhbh Cronin, Principal Officer
Email: maedhbh.cronin@enterprise.gov.ie

Deborah Dignam, Assistant Principal 
Email: deborah.dignam@enterprise.gov.ie

Small Business, Advisory Group on Small Business, SME EU EnvoyConor Verdon, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2418
Email: conor.verdon@enterprise.gov.ie

 

State Aids

Fiona Kilcullen, Principal Officer
Email: fiona.kilcullen@enterprise.gov.ie

Niamh Moloney, Assistant Principal 
Tel: +353 1 631 2324
Email: niamh.moloney@enterprise.gov.ie

Kay Colgan, Higher Executive Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2388
Email: stateaidireland@enterprise.gov.ie

Supporting SMEs Online Tool

Ciaran McLoughlin, Assistant Principal
Tel: + 353 1 631 2175
Email: mailto:ciaran.mcloughlin@enterprise.gov.ie

Laura Byrne, Higher Executive Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2263
Email: laura.byrne@enterprise.gov.ie

Back to Top