Our website uses cookies to enhance your browsing experience and to collect information about how you use this site to improve our service to you. By not accepting cookies some elements of the site, such as video, will not work. Please visit our Cookie Policy page for more information on how we use cookies.

Who We Are

Indigenous Enterprise, SMEs and Entrepreneurship Division

The overall goal of the Indigenous Enterprise, SMEs and Entrepreneurship Division is to work with relevant stakeholders to ensure that appropriate advisory and financial assistance is in place to promote and develop entrepreneurship, to help businesses to start, scale and export, to adjust to Brexit and COVID-19 associated public health measures and to work with stakeholders across the wider system to ensure a supportive business environment (for example, tax policy, skills availability).

The Division operates a suite of policies and schemes designed to assist and facilitate businesses at all stages of development and growth, from nascent and early-stage entrepreneurs to companies of scale trading internationally.

This includes working with the Division’s Agencies, Enterprise Ireland, the 31 Local Enterprise Offices and the National Standards Authority of Ireland (NSAI) together with support for the Design and Crafts Council of Ireland (DCCI) to ensure their supports are relevant and aligned to the evolving needs of business. The Division also provides research and technical assistance to the SME and Entrepreneurship Growth Taskforce and Implementation Group.

Assistant Secretary: Declan Hughes

Tel: +353 1 631 2869
Email: declan.hughes@enterprise.gov.ie

Assistant Secretary’s Personal Assistant: Amy Byrne
Email: amy.byrne@enterprise.gov.ie

Units of Indigenous Enterprise, SMEs and Entrepreneurship Division

  • Entrepreneurship and Small Business Policy Unit
  • Enterprise Agencies and Programmes Unit (Enterprise Ireland/Local Enterprise Offices Liaison)
  • Regional Enterprise Plans and Initiatives Unit
  • Retail and Sector Transformation Policy Unit
  • National Standards Authority of Ireland (NSAI) Liaison Unit

Main contact points

Unit/Area of responsibility

Contact point

SME and Entrepreneurship Policy

Conor Verdon, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2418
Email: conor.verdon@enterprise.gov.ie

Ciaran McLoughlin, Assistant Principal
Tel: + 353 1 631 2175
Email: ciaran.mcloughlin@enterprise.gov.ie

Laura Byrne, Higher Executive Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2263
Email: laura.byrne@enterprise.gov.ie

Enterprise Ireland 

Thomas Murray, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2155
Email: thomas.murray@enterprise.gov.ie

Phyllis Kelly, Assistant Principal
Tel: +353 1 631 2155
Email: Phyllis.kelly@enterprise.gov.ie  

Ciaran Farrell, Higher Executive Officer 
Email: Ciaran.Farrell@enterprise.gov.ie

Denise Cash, Assistant Principal
Email: Denise.cash@enterprise.gov.ie

Mary Delaney, Higher Executive Officer 
Tel: +353 1 631 2230
Email: mary.delaney@enterprise.gov.ie        

Local Enterprise Offices

Thomas Murray, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2155
Email: thomas.murray@enterprise.gov.ie

Michael Clifford, Assistant Principal
Tel: +353 1 631 2195
Email: michael.clifford@enterprise.gov.ie

Donal O Sullivan, Higher Executive Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2307
Email: Donal.osullivan@enterprise.gov.ie

National Standards Authority of Ireland (NSAI) Liaison

Conor Verdon, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2418
Email: conor.verdon@enterprise.gov.ie

Ailish Looby, Assistant Principal
Tel: +353 1 631 2390
Email: ailish.looby@enterprise.gov.ie

Jean Kelly
Tel: +353 1 631 2216
Email: jean.kelly@enterprise.gov.ie

Regional Enterprise Plans and Initiatives 

Céline McHugh, Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2876
Email: celine.mchugh@enterprise.gov.ie

Phelim Cassidy, Assistant Principal (Regional Enterprise Plans)
Tel: + 353 1 631 2023
Email: phelim.cassidy@enterprise.gov.ie

Sinead Ryan, Assistant Principal (Regional Enterprise Plans)
Email: sinead.ryan@enterprise.gov.ie

Regional Enterprise Development Funding

Céline McHugh, Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2876
Email: celine.mchugh@enterprise.gov.ie

Colm O’Neill, Assistant Principal (REDF)
Tel: + 353 1 631 2032
Email: colm.oneill@enterprise.gov.ie

Retail and Sector Transformation Policy


Retail Unit 

Sector Transformation Policy Unit

Small Business Assistance Scheme for COVID (SBASC)

Maedhbh Cronin, Principal Officer
Email: maedhbh.cronin@enterprise.gov.ie 

retail@enterprise.gov.ie

rstp@enterprise.gov.ie 

supportstats@enterprise.gov.ie

Small Business, Advisory Group on Small Business, SME EU Envoy

Conor Verdon, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2418
Email: conor.verdon@enterprise.gov.ie

Supporting SMEs Online Tool and SME Test

Ciaran McLoughlin, Assistant Principal
Tel: + 353 1 631 2175
Email: ciaran.mcloughlin@enterprise.gov.ie

Laura Byrne, Higher Executive Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2263
Email: laura.byrne@enterprise.gov.ie