News & Events

Tánaiste welcomes appointment of new member to the CCPC

Tánaiste and Minister for Enterprise, Trade and Employment Leo Varadkar today welcomed the appointment of Kevin O’Brien as a member of the Competition and Consumer Protection Commission with effect from Monday, 22 August.

Kevin’s most recent role was as Head of Consumer Policy and Research at the Central Bank of Ireland. Kevin was also a Commissioner at the Commission for Communications Regulation from 2011-2018, and its Chairperson from 2013-2015. He has more than 20 years’ experience in senior regulatory and public policy roles and has worked in a range of Irish Civil Service policy roles, in particular on Energy, Communications and Broadcasting policy matters.

The Tánaiste said:

“Kevin brings with him a wealth of experience and is joining the CCPC at a time of significant change for the organisation. The recent enactment of the Competition (Amendment) Act along with the Consumer Rights Bill which I expect will be passed within the next couple of months significantly increase the CCPC’s powers. The experience Kevin brings to the CCPC will no doubt be of the upmost value”.

Kevin joins fellow Commission Members Patrick Kenny, Brian McHugh and Úna Butler along with the Chairperson of the CCPC, Jeremy Godfrey.