News & Events

NSAI ETC Welcome Dinner

*Check against delivery

NSAI ETC Welcome Dinner

Venue: The Helix, Dublin City University, Glasnevin, Dublin 9.

Date: 18th January, 2018

Time: 19.00 hours


Speech by Minister John Halligan TD,


Minister of State for Training, Skills, Innovation, Research and Development


Thank you, Mary, and a big thank you also to John Fitzgerald for his positive, inspiring speech just now.


The means by which electrotechnical standards are created, developed and published in Ireland may have changed somewhat in recent months, but the high-level of dedication, knowledge and hard work found in each of the committees certainly has not. Looking at the photographs displayed on the screen in this room, it’s clear that successive governments have been firm supporters of the electrotechnical standards development process. This Government is no different.


As Minister for Training, Skills, Innovation, Research and Development, I see first-hand every single day the pioneering work carried out by businesses across the country – in areas such as ICT, biotechnology, pharmaceuticals and green energy. But, as you know, such advancements cannot happen in isolation. They often require robust standards which facilitate growth and prosperity, while helping to overcome unforeseen challenges. I want to thank each and every committee member here for your role in developing those electrotechnical standards which help underpin innovation and research, whether it’s in marine energy, smart homes, communications, or other sectors.


Change is never easy or straight forward. I want to acknowledge the ETCI for the excellent work that it has done since the 1970s and I am glad that the development of electrotechnical standards will continue into the future under the auspices of the NSAI’s electrotechnical committees. This is an evolution of what came before and I encourage you all to work together to ensure that Ireland remains at the forefront of innovation when it comes to standards development, and to ensure we continue to have a voice on the European and indeed the world stage.


I note the presence of three people in particular this evening: John Fitzgerald, Peter Kelleher and Abhishek Ramanujan (Abbey-shake Raman-ojan) who, in just a few moments, will be honoured with the IEC’s 1906 Award for their services to electrotechnical standardisation. I want to congratulate and thank you for all your hard work over many years, which has long been recognised internationally. Now you will have the certificates to prove it!


Without further delay, I would like to thank Geraldine Larkin and NSAI for inviting me to tonight’s event. I wish you the very best of luck with the transition and I look forward to hearing about the innovative standards emerging from NSAI’s ETCs over the coming months and years. Thank you very much.