What We Do

Introduction to trade sanctions

This Department is responsible for implementing trade related sanctions. Trade sanctions are increasingly used by the international community as a means of exerting influence on various issues of international concern. Ireland fully subscribes to its international obligations in this regard.

The Department plays a central role in co-ordinating the implementation of the various United Nations and EU measures which have been adopted concerning trade.

If you have any queries regarding trade sanctions please contact the Trade Licensing and Control Unit by email at exportcontrol@enterprise.gov.ie.

Tel: +353 1 631 2328

EU sanctions

EU sanctions are instruments used by the EU to bring about a change in the policies or activities of other countries. They can be used to tackle violations of international law or human rights, and to promote peace, democracy and the rule of law. EU sanctions are often introduced to implement a resolution of the United Nations Security Council. Sanctions will generally include trade measures such as restrictions or embargoes on exports of certain items to specific countries or end-users. For example, the export of military equipment or equipment that could be used for internal repression may be prohibited.

Currently, there are over 30 EU sanctions regimes in effect. Up to date information on EU sanctions can be found on the EU sanctions map. This is an interactive map which shows all countries which are currently subject to EU sanctions and provides information on the individual regimes.

Financial sanctions

This Department does not administer financial sanctions. Financial sanctions and related asset freezing restrictions are a matter for the Department of Finance and, at an operational level, are handled by the Central Bank. Contact details are as follows:

Website: Financial Sanctions - Central Bank of Ireland

Email: sanctions@centralbank.ie

EU restrictive measures in response to the crisis in Ukraine

An extraordinary meeting of the Council of the EU on 3 March 2014 condemned the clear violation of Ukrainian sovereignty and territorial integrity by Russia. An overview of the decisions taken by the European Union regarding restrictive measures since this meeting may be found in a timeline on the website of the Council of the European Union.

The EU non-recognition policy for Crimea and Sevastopol

Information on the EU non-recognition policy for Crimea and Sevastopol may be found in a factsheet produced by the European Union External Action Service.