

Terms of Reference for Membership of SME & Entrepreneurship Taskforce

- The SME & Entrepreneurship Taskforce is a commitment in the Programme for Government and was formed in order to design a National SME Growth Plan to map out an ambitious long-term strategic blueprint for SMEs and entrepreneurs beyond COVID-19.
- The SME & Entrepreneurship Growth Plan was published in January of 2021 and the group is now focused on bringing forward the recommendations.
- The Taskforce is composed of a broad range of business people with expertise in a range of sectors, as well as SME representative groups and other individuals uniquely positioned to contribute to a long-term vision for the SME sector.
- Enterprise Ireland, the Local Enterprise Offices and the business representative bodies; IBEC, SFA, ISME, Chambers Ireland and PALI shall have permanent seats on the Taskforce.
- The representatives from the permanent members may be rotated every four years.
- Individual members shall be expected to participate for a minimum of two years.
- Membership shall be reviewed on a regular basis with consideration given to the priorities of the Taskforce and to diversity and balance within the membership.
- The Taskforce will be chaired by the Minister for Enterprise, Trade & Employment and/or the junior Ministers of the Department of Enterprise, Trade & & Employment.
- The Taskforce will meet at a minimum twice per year.
- High-level minutes of the meetings will be published on the DETE website.
- Subject to the agreement of the Minister a progress report will be brought to Government and published at year end.
- Membership of the Taskforce is on a pro bono basis.